Martin’s radio slot next Sunday!

As we mentioned some time ago, Martin is going to be hosting his own radio show for 2 weeks starting next Sunday 14th on BBC Radio 6 Music at 2pm for 2 hours.

Here is Martin with a new hairstyle posing for this (sadly too short) radio show.

Martin show will air on Sunday 14th and Sunday 21st July

As always you can listen to the show live from the BBC Radio 6 Music website or you can listen to it afterwards from the iPlayer.

Martin on Record Collector Magazine

Martin has made a contribution to Record Collector Magazine with what he called “The Soundtrack of his life” and that includes some personal stories behind each album he picked. This piece appears in the July edition of the mag.

Tracks include:

  • The Band New Heavies “The Brand New Heavies”
  • Jungle Brothers “Done by the Forces of Nature”
  • Joni Mitchell “The Hissing of Summer Lawns”
  • Hall & Oaks “Abandoned Luncheonette”
  • Curtis Mayfield “Superfly”
  • Lonnie Liston Smith & The Cosmic Echoes “Expansions”
  • Lewis Taylor “Lewis Taylor”
  • John Martyn “Solid Air”
  • Syreeta “Stevie Wonder Presents: Syreeta”
  • Alabama Shakes “Sound & Color”

You can read about each album in the Magazine’s twitter post:

Martin Freeman on Desert Island Discs

It’s been announced (or more like found) that Martin is expected to appear next Sunday (March 31st) on the podcast/radio show from BBC Radio 4 “Desert Island Discs”.

The roughtly 40 minutes’ show’s premise is: “Eight tracks, a book and a luxury: what would you take to a desert island? A castaway guest shares the soundtrack of their lives.” So expect to get some more of Martin’s favourite tracks some are probably going to be included in the upcoming “Soul on the Corner” compilation that’s going to come out on May.

How can you listen to it? Several ways:

Soul on the Corner cover and pre-order

We finally have news about Martin and Eddie Piller’s new compilation album: “Martin Freeman and Eddie Piller present Soul on the Corner”.

Let’s get to what most of us were waiting for and that is the album cover! This beautiful blue wall contrasts perfectly with Martin and Eddie’s matching outfits. A simple design and color palette that reminds us of the Blue Notes Records cover designs.

Soul on the Corner Cover Art. Photograph by Dean Chalkley.

You can preorder the album from the following:

Take into account that as indicated in Acid Jazz page, the track list for the CD version is different from the LP one. We’ve created a playlist with the LP tracklist – not all songs are available though mind: Spotify